Dark, Lovely, and South Asian~~Growing up as the darkest granddaughter was very…

Dark, Lovely, and South Asian

WANT TO SUBMIT SOMETHING? HTTP://DARKLOVELYANDSOUTHASIAN.TUMBLR.COM/SUBMIT

About the author

I couldn’t find any space online that celebrate positive images of dark-skinned South Asians so I created one. This is also a space to celebrate the South Asian diaspora and people of Indo-Caribbean descent who also face colorism. Audre Lorde said, “If I didn’t define myself for myself, I would be crunched into other people’s fantasies for me and eaten alive.” I refuse to be crunched into other people’s dehumanizing fantasies about me. I refuse to be eaten alive. I am a dark-skinned South Asian who needs to see representations that reflect me. Here are images, voices and stories that document I am not alone.

Ask me anything Submit your photos, videos and stories!

Search

Blog Tools

Archive

RSS

1,250 notes

August 6, 2012

Growing up as the darkest granddaughter was very annoying. My family’s comments still continue. I grew up hating my complexion. I remember covering my face with baby powder as a kid, so I could be ‘white’, and then playing with my mom’s makeup. It wasn’t until my early 20s when 1 of my non-South Asian friends said “you have the perfect color” to me, that I realized that being “dark” could be pretty. Then I dated someone who would remind me very often of how beautiful my brown was. Over the years I have come to love my brown skin, and I am thankful for it. My complexion is a combination of natural selection and genetics, what could be more special?

I was born/raised in NYC, and I went to India (South) for the first time this year. I blended in there in a way I never expected. I felt proud of my ancestry, and even more proud of my skin. This summer was the first summer I did not hide out from the sun.

I am a dance teacher to many little South Asian girls, and I encourage them to love themselves for who they are. I embrace each of their unique beauties, and all I hope for is that they will too.

Thank you for making a place for us to share our stories.

-Sonya Devi, NYC

Filed under dark lovely and south asian dark-skinned South Asian diaspora South Asian beautiful lovely India submission

via Growing up as the darkest granddaughter was very….

One comment

  1. DWFinney

    I am an African American, Senior citizen and I appaud you in your uniqueness and beauty… I thank you for sharing this story and for making a place that may help others to find themselves as you have. Stay strong and beautiful my sister. God Bless You.

Leave a Reply

